Home / People
Joint Management Committee
The Joint Management Committee plays the role of executive oversight and institute decision-making. It comprises three senior leaders from ZJU and three senior leaders from UIUC. Members have high-level roles at the partner universities, and bring their vision for international cooperation.
Prof. HE Lianzhen is Vice President of Zhejiang University and Secretary of the Communist Party Committee of International Campus, Dean of International Campus, ZJU. Her Master’s degree is from the University of Birmingham (1992), and her PhD degree in language testing is from Guangdong Foreign Studies University, China (1998). She was a senior visiting scholar at the University of California at Los Angeles in 2004 and was local chair of the 2008 Language Testing Research Colloquium (LTRC) held at Zhejiang University. She was the Benjamin Meaker Visiting Professor at the University of Bristol in 2014. She has been a keynote speaker at several international conferences. Her main research interests are language testing and English language teaching.
OUYANG, Hongwei
Professor Hongwei Ouyang achieved his bachelor’s degree in clinical medicine from Hunan Medical University in 1994 and obtained his PhD degree in National University of Singapore (NUS) in 2003. He worked as a postdoc and clinical scientist for several years at NUS, before joining Zhejiang University in 2005.He devotes himself to multidisciplinary research and education for musculoskeletal system restoration and regeneration, leading the team to make outstanding progress in the field of regenerative medicine.In the last 10 years, he has initiated and demonstrated the first clinical application of tissue-engineered cartilage transplantation technology and has accelerated the translational research of innovative silk medical implants in China. He has established a research system of multidisciplinary intersection and upstream-downstream integration and has promoted the development of joint surgery from replacement to regeneration.He has more than 70 research papers published on journals with impact factors higher than 10.0, such as Science Advances, Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases (IF 12.811), Advanced Functional Materials (IF 12.124), Stem Cell Reports/Stem Cells (Journal of International Society of Stem Cell Research), Biomaterials (Journal of International Biomaterial Society), Arthritis Rheumatology (Journal of Osteoarthritis Research Society International) et al.These research achievements are specially commented by Nature Reviews Rheumatology, Nature website, and Journal of International Society of Stem Cell Research. Furthermore, Professor Ouyang received first prize on the Science and Technology Progress Award (2012) and second prize on the Natural Science Award of Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China (2014).
LI, Erping
Li Er-Ping is a Qiushi Chair Professor in Information Science and Electronics, was Vice Dean of Faculty of Information Technology of Zhejiang University, as Founding Dean for the Joint Institute of Zhejiang University and University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Dr Li pioneers in electromagnetic simulation and applications in solving complex EMC problems in communication and information systems, many of his research results are successfully transferred to Industry, authored and co-authored over 400 papers published in referred international journals, and filed over 20 patents. He has instrumented the strong collaborations with number of international Institutions. He founded a company specially deliver the technology and modules to communication industy. With his outstanding scientific contribution and international recognition, Dr Li was elected to Fellow of IEEE in 2007, and a Fellow of MIT Electromagnetics Academy, USA , and received number of prestigious international Awards, specially, received the most prestigious international awards Laurence G. Cumming Award and Richard R. Stoddard Award from IEEE EMC Society.
William Bernhard
Prof. William Bernhard is the Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. He holds a B.A. in government from Cornell University, and a M.A. and Ph.D in political science from Duke University. His research examines the strategic choices of political actors, including how parties manage candidate nominations, and how the potential for immigration across borders shapes foreign policy choices. Prior to being named Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost, Dr. Bernhard was the Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs of University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.
Rashid Bashir
Prof. Rashid Bashir is Dean of the Grainger College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his BSEE from Texas Tech University as the highest ranking graduate in the College of Engineering in Dec. 1987. He completed his MSEE from Purdue University in 1989 and Ph.D. from Purdue University in 1992. In Oct. 2007, he joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and was the Abel Bliss Professor of Engineering, and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering & Bioengineering.
Philippe H Geubelle
Prof. Philippe H Geubelle is Executive Associate Dean of the Grainger College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He completed his M.S. and Ph.D. in Aeronautics at Caltech in 1989 and 1993, respectively. After a year as a Postdoctoral Research Associate at Harvard, he joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in January 1995. He is currently Bliss Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, with joint appointments in Mechanical Science and Engineering, in Civil and Environmental Engineering, at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications and at the Beckman Institute of Advanced Science and Technology.
ZJU-UIUC 联合学院院长、浙江大学电子信息技术与系统研究所所长、IEEE会士