Back to top

Faculty Directory

4.Philip Krein.jpg

Philip Krein

Senior Professor of Electrical Engineering
Member of U.S.National Academy of Engineering
Executive Dean of ZJU-UIUC Institute

Professor Philip Krein earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from University of Illinois in 1982. He is a Fellow of IEEE and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. Professor Krein received many awards. In 2015-2016, he is Chair of the IEEE Transportation Electrification Community.His research interests address all aspects of power electronics,machines, drives, electric transportation, and electrical energy, with emphasis on nonlinear control approaches. He holds thirty-four U.S. patents with additional patents pending.

4.William Sanders.jpg

William Sanders

The head of ECE,UIUC
IEEE Member

Professor William Sanders earned his Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering from University of Michigan in 1988. He is department head of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Professor Sanders is a Fellow of IEEE. He has served various capacities at IEEE Society, and was a member of the Board of Directors of Sigmetrics and ACM Sigmetrics. His research mainly focuses on Computer Systems Modeling and Analysis, Architecting Reliable and Secure Systems, and Dependability/Security Evaluation.

4Erhan Kudeki.jpg

Erhan Kudeki

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Head for Undergraduate Affairs/Chief Advisor

Professor Erhan Kudeki earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Cornell University in January 1983. Professor Kudeki got the NSF CEDAR Prize and the Pratt Award for Teaching Excellence. His research and teaching interests include incoherent scatter radar theory and measurements, atmospheric winds waves and turbulence, radar remote sensing.

3.Tao Xie .png

Tao Xie

Associate Professor and Willett Faculty Scholar
Department of Computer Science

Prof. Tao Xie is an Associate Professor and Willett Faculty Scholar who earned his Ph.D. from U. Washington in 2005. His current research includes Software Engineering: Software Testing, Debugging, and Analysis, Software Analytics, Software Security, Software Engineering for Mobile/Internet Computing. He has obtained several awards including 2015 ACM Distinguished Scientist, 2014 Google Faculty Research Award.

1Benito J. Mariñas.jpg

Benito J. Mariñas

Professor of Ivan Racheff
Environmental Engineering Head
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Prof. Benito J. Mariñas is an Ivan Racheff Professor, Head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois. He holds Ph.D. degree in environmental engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1989. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including the Harold Munson Outstanding Teacher Award, the Ross Judson Buck '07 Outstanding Counselor Award, and the Arthur and Virginia Nauman Faculty Scholar Award. His research interests in various mechanistic aspects of chemical and ultraviolet light disinfection processes and membrane technologies.

1Erol Tutumluer.jpg

Erol Tutumluer

Director of International Programs
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Erol Tutumluer is a Professor specializing in Transportation Geotechnics in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE). He serves as the Director of International Programs. Dr. Tutumluer has research interests and expertise in characterization of pavement and railroad track geomaterials, modeling granular foundation systems, and construction practices for transportation infrastructure. He conducted over 65 research projects. He is the Co-Editor-in-Chief of the new Transportation Geotechnics Elsevier journal.

1Liang Y. Liu.jpg

Liang Y. Liu

William E. O’Neil Faculty Scholar
Associate Dean of Facilities and Capital Planning, College of Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Professor Liang Y. Liu, is a Associate Professor and a William E. O’Neil Faculty Scholar. Prof. Liang Liu teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in Construction Engineering and Management, including Construction Productivity, Cost Estimating, Construction Management Information Systems, and Construction Case Studies. In 2003, he won the Teaching Excellence Award of the University of Illinois College of Engineering. He also received the Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising in 2015. Prof. Liu conducts both basic and applied research in Construction Engineering and Management including project controls, productivity analysis and improvement, cost engineering, information technologies, facility life- cycle analysis, risk management, and computer simulation.

2 Andrew Alleyne (MechSE).jpg

Andrew Alleyne

Ralph & Catherine Fisher Professor
Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Andrew Alleyne is the Ralph M. and Catherine V. Fisher Professor, who earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1994. His current research is mainly in control of nonlinear mechanical systems. Prof. Alleyne and UIUC have also been selected by the NSF to lead a new Engineering Research Center (ERC) for Power Optimization in Mobile Electronics (POETS).

5.Aaron LaDuke UIUC 英语系教师  lecture of English.jpg

Aaron LaDuke

lecture of English

Dr. Aaron LaDuke is a Lecturer in the English Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and was previously a Lecturer in the Department of Language and Literature at Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Dr. LaDuke received his BA from Northwestern University and earned a PhD in American literature from Ohio University. He has been teaching writing and literature courses for the past 17 years. His research interests include the literature, history, and culture of the Great Plains region of the U.S. and also writing studies in the areas of developmental pedagogy and instructional technology.


Marilyn Holguin

lecture of English

Dr. Marilyn Holguin is a lecturer in the English Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She received her BA with honors at Lafayette College (Easton, PA) in 2005 and her PhD in English Literature at the University of Illinois in 2015. She specializes in British literature from the long eighteenth-century (1660-1800) with a focus on Restoration tragedies and early novels.

5.Mats Selen教授.jpg

Mats Selen

Professor of the Year,2016,USA
Professor of Physics



Zhong-Jin Ruan

Professor, Department of Mathematics

Professor Zhong-Jin Ruan earned his Ph.D. from UCLA in 1987 . His research interests include operator spaces, operator algebras, and locally compact quantum groups. He has obtained several awards including Mahlon M. Day Award for Distinguished Mathematical Research, 2003-2005,LAS Alumni Discretionary Award 2005-06, 2006-07, and 2007-2008. He also be the editor of Frontiers of Mathematics from 2008 to present.